RSS

Tale of a girl’s hair

18 Jul

Grandma told me neva to
touch a gals hair
I neva asked her why
coz tradition restricted
any such inquisitive dare.
Too curious now became my soul
quickly went out investigating…
this mystery I had to unfold
the mystery behind caressing
the queenly combed afro
or intricately plaited corn row….

On one of the fine week days
as we were walking home from school
I strode along one of ma cool female friends
carefully crafting a cheeky plan
calculating how to get the palm of ma hand
gliding along the on her head.

“you’ve got some grass on yo’ hair” I said
the first part of my plan had begun
slowly she attempted to clean the imaginary ‘mess’
“has it all come off?” she innocently asked
“just a little more,
no worries I’ll get it out” I sneakily replied.
So this cunning self begun her hair to stroke
Once then twice then our eyes took hold…lost control
It happened so fast…..system overload
the grass…the touch…the ‘divine dance’
emotional overdose!!
before I knew it I had
overstepped the forbidden zone.
Truth be told the rest is difficult to disclose

All I Can say is I don’t touch gals hair no more….

uThanDiLe(c)2012

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Tale of a girl’s hair

  1. Claudia

    August 15, 2012 at 6:43 am

    very cool… just one touch and all the barriers can break at once.. great story telling and you had me showered in adrenaline while reading that last stanza…nice…

     
  2. hobgoblin2011

    August 15, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Really like how this sounds when read, in that respect, I love the diction, really a fine job getting it down perfectly, really illuminating this aspect of character. Strong piece. Thanks

     
  3. brian miller

    August 15, 2012 at 10:54 am

    ha…sometimes all it takes is a atouch to open those new worlds…interesting how what is forbidden become the one thing we want to do until it becomes an obsession at times….really nicely told…great flow…

     
  4. Semaphore / Samuel Peralta

    August 15, 2012 at 11:25 am

    This starts out with a mysterious air, that draws us into the story and keeps us continuing to read, then closes when we have come ironically full-circle to the admonition at the beginning.

     
  5. Kushite Prince

    August 15, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. You have a nice blog as well. I love the picture of the woman on this page. She’s really beautiful. 🙂

     
  6. mary burrell

    September 8, 2012 at 12:54 am

    This is nice like this will be visiting more often. Glad I found this.

     
  7. tigerbrite

    October 5, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    The attraction of the forbidden eh. Hope it didn’t get you into too much trouble:)

     
    • frikalture

      October 8, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      got me into some hot hot soup; tha memory is tatooed in my thoughts 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
